In the mind of a Writer

I noticed that the longer that NaNoWriMo has been out . . . the more media it gets. . . the more inspire people want to write their stories. . . the more negative reviews seem to get. I’m sure if people are upset that they see writing tweets and blogs or if they miss their friends for a month.

Some say to try for one year, but don’t do more. . . well, I am on my fifth year. The challenge is addicting and not one year has ever been the same.

Some say that it doesn’t tell writers what to next, but if you research the site, they fellow sites that help with editting, publishing, and other contests for such writing. They also explain that once the 50,000+ words are written you might have to add and edit the work before it can be published.

Some say it’s wasted time and words. . . I will admit I do put at least 50 hours of editing on my novels, I would never say that NaNoWriMo is a waste of time.

Now to tell you what NaNoWriMo has done for me. . . (My very understanding fiance also helped. . . )

  • To this day I have two books in the editting process. . . one I plan to release book 1 Melzela of my vampire series Crimson Shadows Collection around Dec 13th my birthday.
  • I have a murder thriller novella triology just three chapters away from being finished.
  • In the four years I have participated in NaNoWriMo my projects have elimated around 450,000 words.
  • I have learned how to edit.
  • I have learned the difference between my writer and my editor.
  • I have learned that word sprints are amazing.
  • I have learned how to write in a busy day.
  • I have learned how to make smaller goals to accomplish a bigger goal.
  • I am planning to work on my second vampire book in November.
  • This year alone I have written over 200,000 words.
  • I know I can take on the challenge again and again.

So this is what I want to say. . . if you have a story to tell and you need a push. I would suggest trying NaNoWriMo at least once in your life.

Leave a Reply

