In the mind of a Writer

NaNoWriMo 2013 is coming. . .

Notes for NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo is coming up (in 30 plus  days or so. . .)

November 1st, the day we writers start writing/typing in fervor as if we are racing a marathon with our fingers. We mumbled under our breath while we slip on the wrong keys or misspell common words. We race to get the words out hoping that our story becomes clearer as into the sprint. We hope that our characters and our muses agree to follow the plot or at least to not stray too far.

I’ve learned from my three years of NaNoWriMo that outlining, note-taking, character profiling, and brain storming is greatly needed in preparation. I cannot just simply write without nothing. It is like if I tried to build a house without wood or nails.

So now I’m starting my outline and my notes hoping to have all the pieces and characters stew in my brain.

I have a characters profile to help build a characters to make them real. I even use actors/models to use their looks in my heads.  (This is a link to a basic character sketch. . . https://rebekahwolveire.wordpress.com/2012/10/31/character-sketches/

You can make it as basic or complicated as you want.  I am very character heavy when I write my stories; I feel there will be no plot without the characters. )

Plot questions and journey (I plan to write a blog about this.)

I outline simple at first . . . The divide into section and outline each section. So the story is practically in front of me. (I also plan to write a blog about this as well. You may not write a perfect outline. . . it could just be a few sentences or lists just leading you into a direction.)

Practicing writing (I do this so I don’t get tempted to work on NaNoWriMo project early.)

Blogs (http://Rebekah1213.wordpress.com and http://spiritualbeck.wordpress.com )
Short stories
Rewrites of other stories
Finishing/ editing old projects

Over the next week, I will be focusing on my NaNoWriMo project. This is the link to my previous NaNoWriMo blogs . . . https://rebekahwolveire.wordpress.com/category/nanowrimo/

Comments on: "NaNoWriMo 2013 is coming. . ." (3)

  1. Good luck with NaNo, I will be attempting it for the first time this year. Planning is a big part of my game plan, but much like you, I have had to step back and work on another story just do I don’t do too much before Nov. 1st

  2. I’m writing the second book in the Ezra the Dream Traveller series. I’m counting on remembering my notes from after last year’s NaNo, when I started thinking about dream-jumping my MC’s back to the McCarthy Era. Fortunately, John Coltrane lived in the city (Philadelphia) that my characters start in, and Ezra is a sax player, so it’s a natural there. I even have the plot – while visiting Annemarie’s best friend Ellen, they cause WWIII. Then they have to find a way to un-cause it or reverse it, because they keep waking up in a smouldering wreck of a city.

Leave a Reply

