In the mind of a Writer

Driving lies

 Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing: Rebekah Wolveire author of Driving Lies

 

What is the working title of your book?
My latest thrilling book is called Driving Lies.

Where did the idea come from for the book?
The idea was originally from a script I worked on high school, most of high school. I reread it and I liked the main idea, but then I realized that there was a lot of holes in my plot. I tweaked the plot, outlined it, and started to write for NaNoWriMo 2011.

What genre does your book fall under?
This book can fall under several categories such a murder mystery, thriller, and suspense.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
Jake- Eric Balfour (Haven, 24); Penny (Jake’s ex-girlfriend)- Kaley Cuoco (The Big Bang Theory) 
Neve- Britt Roberson (Cherry); Eric- Patrick Fugit (Almost Famous) Nick-  Taylor Kitsch (The Covenant)

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Simple version: A man, Jacob Walters, snaps and strikes revenges with car accidents killing all his victims.

Complex version: Jacob Walters had a beautiful finances, great son, and good future, but he gambled it all way on a family. Once things started to crack, Jake to revenge the only way he knew how through cars.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
I want to publish, but I have a long road of editing first. I will get my 5 free copies from Create Space. I think I will put it on amazon or smash words. Keep up with this blog for the links.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
I still have yet to finish a few chapters on the last section, but I know have more that 150K so far. It’s been over a year.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
In some ways, I would like to think And Then There None (also known as Ten Little Indians) by Agatha Christie.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?
I don’t drive. I was hit by a car (hit and run) when I was 12 scouting a paper route, since then I’ve had nightmares of getting into car accidents in and out of the car. I thought if I wrote about car accidents it would help me to get over it, but it’s different when you put it on the page and you are on the road.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
I write this book in two different perspectives and I rotate using their name at the top of each section. This way you see from the victim’s and murderer’s points of view.

Leave a Reply

