In the mind of a Writer

Another NaNoWriMo Interview

 It’s Thanksgiving and my muses are on vacation. I decided to do three things while brining and cooking my turkey.
I was reading these articles in CreateSpace https://www.createspace.com/en/community/community/resources/blog/2012/11/01/nanowrimo-2012-the-createspace-kdp-chronicles-part-1?ref=416792&utm_id=6051

https://www.createspace.com/en/community/community/resources/blog/2012/11/15/nanowrimo-2012-the-createspace-kdp-chronicles-part-2

 

So here are my answers to the their questions.

Part 1

What inspired you to participate in NaNoWriMo this year?
I enjoy a good challenge. When I was first writing, I was paying more attention to page number and I found out that publishers pay more attention to word count.

Is this your first time, or are you a seasoned veteran
This is my third year and I hope to make it 3 for 3. I gave myself an extra challenge I am doing two separate novels at the same time. I am hoping to make 50k on each.

What is your plan for reaching 50,000 words in 30 days?
Lots of word sprints. (A word war/sprint is writing so many words in a certain time). I can get so much accomplished when I write in sprints.

Anything else you want to add?
I am a plotter/planner, I create outlines, characters sketches, but I use it as a net when I write. I allow my muses and characters to direct my word count in November. If I over-write then I can always cut it down in Feb-Mar when I edit.

 

Part 2

What is your book about?
Driving Lies is written two different perspectives: one the victim and the killer; the murder kills with car accidents.
Crimson Shadow Collection: Melzela (Book 1 of 7) is about the story of Melzela and she adapted being a vampire.

Have you hit any writer’s block?
Actually, it was funny, I have let these two stories stew for a few years now. I have been very motivated with them. I didn’t plan to write Wednesday or Thursday for the holiday and sure enough my muses decided to take a break. (I hope they come back on Friday.)

This is a tough contest; what’s been the biggest challenge so far?
I sometimes I feel I am driven more on one project than another. I try to rotate, but if I know I can get a decent word count, I usually stick with that story.

Anything else you’d like to share at this midpoint of the contest?
I didn’t think I would be as far as I am. It really have to say it’s all about the word sprints. This what works for me I write twice an hour for 25 minutes at a time. :05-:30 and then :35-:00. I have gotten the most writing done that way. (Some people like longer sprints and some like shorter, 25 minutes usually works really well for me.)

I also plan to get my 5 free books from CreateSpace when I am finished and have my projects edited. (You have to pay for the prove and shipping and handling, but it is worth it.)

Happy Writing!

Comments on: "Another NaNoWriMo Interview" (4)

  1. Tanya Cienfuegos said:

    and now I’m thankful for this post because I was wondering what I was going to post on my blog today! Thanks so much!

  2. Hey, Rebekah,

    Is that a choice of 5 other people’s novels, or 5 of one’s own POD’s? Also, the idea of TWO 50,000 word manus in one month makes my head spin. I am closing in on the end of my ONE manuscript, and a middle-grades one at that (although the time-travel has proved a little bit Gordian at times).

    • I’m Not exactly sure what you mean by the first question. When you finish NaNoWriMo, createspace will send you 5 free copies (after you sign up for a free account and sumbit your edited version of your book. Then you buy a proof copy plus shipping, once you get everything, the way you like, you play shipping and they send you 5 free copies of your finished book. NaNoWriMo and CreateSpace explain it.)

      It was a challenge and yet I enjoyed routating ideas. I can get really bored sticking on just one idea. I am a natural multitasker.
      Happy Writing .

Leave a Reply

