In the mind of a Writer

I read an article from NaNoWriMo blog http://blog.lettersandlight.org/post/32671611607/10-reasons-you-should-do-nanowrimo

I decided to make my own top ten reasons for participating in NaNoWriMo.

1. I’m a story-teller and writer. I am always writing a story or a poem. If not, they are replaying in my head.
2. I enjoy the challenge. When I first started to write novellas and novels: I was paying more attention to the page numbers, but then I discovered word count: now I am always challenging my word count. In fact, I am counting my words now. . . This month I have just under 19k and so far this year I have estimated over 200k. That is a lot of words.
I also have deadlines once I achieve the 50k; some of the sponsors have rewards, but you must take advantage of them within a certain time. This keeps me going; I don’t just write a story and then stop.
3. It a creative outlet for me to express myself. I am always trying to express who I am and I think NaNoWriMo lets me do it within the month of November.
4. I like to socialize. I really like finding people with similar hobbies. It nice to know I am not the only struggling with my plot, characters, or muses.
5. I like achievements. I feel like I am standing on top of a mountain when I finish those 50,000 words. I feel that I am that much closer to a published novel. It’s a journey. It’s not necessarily a physical journey of climbing on rock and dirt, but getting up, motivating yourself, and typing word by word is really a journey of both the spirit and the mind.
6. I love my computer. I love living in such a modern age. I’m not the one who has an iphone or ipad, but I love my computer. It lets me do what I love: write, get on NaNoWriMo, chat, and play Sims. I enjoy being on-line with my writing groups and typing up a story/blog for several hours each day.
7. I love to stay indoors most of the time. I will admit I love the fall and spring, the weather is warm and it’s great for walking. However in November it starts to get cold and rather snuggle up with a good book or write at my computer with hot cocoa than go outside.
8. I enjoy just being in my own world. I have a key-chain that says “I’m in my own little world; it’s okay they know me there.” I have my characters in my head mingling with my very creative muses and I love the action and drama that goes on in my head. If I can get my world from my head to my stories it’s even better.
9. It encourages a desire to finish a project. There is something about holding your own paperback book when everything is said and done that makes the struggles of NaNoWriMo worth it. I feel amazed when I look at my book shelf and I see my book up there with other authors instead of just on the computer screen.
10. It’s nice to know that there is more after NaNoWriMo. NaNoWriMo is just the beginning . . . They have sponsors that work with publishing and other writing projects. They have NaNoEdMo (National Novel Editing Month in March), Scriptfrenzy (April) and Camp NaNo (June and August) in the summer. I even know a few writing buddies that have another writing month in January. I just appreciate that I never have to stop writing.

Comments on: "My Own 10 Reasons I am writing in NaNoWriMo" (2)

  1. mysterioussmysteries said:

    Exactly

  2. One for me would be that I work best under pressure, otherwise I stagnate and nothing gets done. Nano is just the sort of pressure I need to get moving on my major writing projects. 🙂

Leave a Reply

